FROM TAPPERIJ TO HOTEL
LION D’OR THEN AND NOW
Hotel Lion d’Or started as a tapperij (pub) in 1839, and was developed into a lodging house under its current name in the 1920s. The hotel was taken over by the Amstel Brewery in 1946 until Lou Bandy, one of the pioneers of Dutch entertainment, became the owner. He performed there regularly in the 1950s. After a period of private ownership, the hotel changed hands to the current owners, Marcel and Lilly Berendsen, in 2016. Under their inspiring leadership, Hotel Lion d’Or has undergone a complete restyling combining modern elements with attractive, authentic details. A dedicated team with a passion for the hotel makes every stay a special experience.